Reckoning Point by J. M. Hewitt

Reckoning Point by J. M. Hewitt is book two in her mystery/thriller P.I. Alex Harvey series. This is the sequel to her acclaimed book, Exclusion Zone, but it reads well as a standalone.

Elian Gould is in Holland searching for the man who, along with his compatriot, attacked her in the most vicious of ways. London P.I. Alex Harvey has feelings for Elian and is frantically searching for her. He is fueled by his desire to rectify his missteps in their budding relationship.

Naomi Wilson is a traveling nurse and girlfriend of Inspector Erik Fons. She’s attacked and left for dead. Inspector Erik Fons has been diligently working to locate the perpetrator who is terrorizing local women, and Naomi’s attack serves as a catalyst for him to redouble his efforts.

Hewitt reveals the story through the viewpoints of multiple characters and flashbacks to previous events. This could have been confusing but both techniques are handled nicely with detailed chapter headers. The characters are well-developed with complete backstories. The plot is engaging. The ending is satisfying and leaves the option for future installments. Ultimately I enjoyed this novel and rate it 4 out of 5 stars. Readers who enjoy the mystery and thriller genres will find this novel compelling.

My thanks to Endeavour Media and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book. However, the opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine and mine alone.

Publication Date: December 6, 2019

#ReckoningPoint #NetGalley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s